

Maastricht – 2 July 2014; Room 0.4; 08:30 – 09:45

- NTW introduction: Phil Kearney
- NTW activities: Eva Deront
- Current issues: Jan Haverkamp
- discussion



For more information:

Website: www.nuclear-transparency-watch.eu Twitter: NTWeurope Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nucleartransparencyw atch

Brief history



2008 – French Federation of Local Commissions of Information (ANCCLI) initiated the Aarhus Convention and Nuclear process (ACN) together with Directorate General for Energy of the European Commission (DG ENER-EC), **European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)** and in cooperation with the European Nuclear Energy Forum (ENEF)

Process



- Series of national and European round tables
- Concluding in a joint meeting with Aarhus Convention Task Force on Public Participation in Luxembourg, March 2013
- December 4, 2012 a dozen MEPs from various political orientations launched "Nuclear Transparency Watch"

Formalisation:

- Inaugural General Assembly in the European Parliament, November 2013
- Registered as an Association under French law. (RNA No. W751222083)

Goal and context



• To facilitate the practical implementation of the Aarhus Convention in the nuclear sector

 The Fukushima accident has raised all over the world societal awareness of the risks and catastrophic potential entailed by civil nuclear activities and of the imperative necessity to reach and maintain a high level of nuclear safety.





- Promote transparency in nuclear issues and increase the contribution of civil society in the governance of nuclear activities
- Raise awareness among policy makers and European society about transparency in nuclear issues
- Develop a counter-expertise on nuclear safety at the local, national and European level

Methods



- Representing NTW's members in European nuclear policy-making processes;
- Questioning European institutions and Members of the European Parliament;
- Supporting local and national initiatives that aim to improve transparency of nuclear activities in each European country;
- Providing information to NTWs members and European citizens;
- Building partnerships with independent and public experts and institutes with nuclear expertise;
- Benchmarking the level of transparency of nuclear activities in different European countries.

Membership



 NTW includes civil society actors as well as local and European elected representatives from: France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, Bulgaria, Ukraine, Ireland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Sweden, Slovenia and Poland

Governance



Management Board (MB) of eleven members

- Jean-Claude Delalonde, ANCCLI, France,
- Florion Guillaud, ANCCLI, France,
- Jan Haverkamp, qualified member, Czech Republic,
- Gilles Hériard-Dubreuil, qualified member, France,
- Jean-Paul Lacote, local representative, Germany,
- Corinne Lepage, MEP, ALDE, France,
- Michèle Rivasi, MEP, Greens, France,
- Jeremy Wates, European Environmental Bureau,
- Nadja Zeleznik, Regional Centre for Environment (REC), Slovenia,
- **Philip Kearney**, qualified member, Ireland,
- Johan Swahn, MKG, Swedish NGO Office for Waste Review, Sweden.